Reviews

  • It was perfect!

    A review of Utsjoki - New Year Twice by Nathalie Crahay & Ingo Eschweiler
    29 December 2019

    Even though Holiday Village Valle was not our first choice of accommodation (based on pictures) it absolutely exceeded our expectations. The rooms, even though basic, are very spacious and clean and comfortably designed. The fact that there is limited accommodation made the stay very personal and allowed for pleasant interactions with other guests and the staff. Food wise, we have absolutely no
    Read more
    complaints, we were served local, nourishing and delicious meals three times a day: king crab legs for New Year's eve, raw salmon tartare, beetroot spreads, rabbit stew and we even got home brewed kombucha. We also had a lovely Sami dinner in a hut. The activities were always well organised and planned and the guides were very flexible and accommodation. Did you want to go at a later time, stay a bit longer on a certain spot, etc everything was feasible. They really went out their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible.
    Read less

  • A totally magical holiday

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by The Riddle Family
    23 December 2019

    We went to Lapland with our children when they were small to see Santa - which was a hugely memorable experience. This time we went back as adults. It was still a totally magical holiday together as a family. That is in part because all the practicalities were very smoothly handled by Artisan and the local team. Everyone we dealt with throughout the whole trip was friendly, helpful and
    Read more
    knowledgeable. If you have the chance to go - just go.
    Read less

  • It couldn't have been better

    A review of Saija - Husky Safari by The Lockwood Family
    14 December 2019

    Our guide was excellent. So organized, friendly, knowledgeable, really cared for us well. We waited 14 years for our son to be old enough to drive his own husky sled so for us it was all about the dogs. The set up of the dog experience was perfect. From the care of the dogs, the build up of the sledding to the overnight trip it couldn't have been better.

  • The Best. Holiday. Ever. !

    A review of Saija - Husky Safari by Kirsty, Nathaniel and Cameron Lockwood
    14 December 2019

    As reviewed by our teenage son. We waited many years for him to be old enough to drive the husky sled himself and it was everything we hoped and more.   We had confidence when booking that we were choosing a company that had high welfare standards for the dogs - they were indeed very well cared for.   Everything was done online and was very efficient and easy. Everything went
    Read more
    smoothly.  Saija 'lodge' was perfect with everything we needed,  it was beautiful,  small enough,  comfortable,  everyone was incredibly friendly,  the food was exceptional and we even had a sauna in our rooms! The equipment we were lent was perfect for the activities and so much better than anything we owned or could buy.   The husky sledding experience was perfectly judged and executed.  Warming us up perfectly so that we had confidence on our ability to manage on the sled.  We were fully involved in looking after the dogs.  Our guide Laurie was perfect; organised,  managed us well,  knew the dogs well,  he talked to us about lots of very interesting things like history of Finland,  nature,  the dogs,  tracks and of course the activities being run there in the summer.  We had an amazing time and would highly recommend this specific holiday to anyone.
    Read less

  • Whenever we needed to speak to Artisan travel the staff were always very knowlegable and helpful.

    A review of Saija - Husky Safari by Rachel Phillips & Derek Taylor
    30 November 2019

    The equipment we hired was excellent, it all looked like it was new. The food at the resort and on the husky safari was delicious. The staff were brilliant. The guides who did the safari were great fun and very knowlegable, we felt very safe and well looked after. The food provided during the safari was outstanding. Whenever we needed to speak to Artisan travel the staff were always very
    Read more
    knowlegable and helpful.
    Read less

  • A really well-planned holiday

    A review of Portugal’s Garden Island by Jane Dawson & Elisabeth Pugh
    28 September 2019

    Overall a really well-planned holiday with good balance of time to yourself and activities. One of us had already visited the island for long weekend a couple of times and felt this gave an excellent overview of the feel of Madeira which is such a wonderful place to explore. We both enjoyed the day exploring the lesser frequented East and North of the island most especially the Quinta do Feraio -
    Read more
    fantastic setting, viewpoint and restaurant. We also loved the Palheiro gardens, levada near trout farm and the Jasmin Tea House which we would be unlikely to have located for ourselves. We would totally recommend the Quinta Bel Tiago to anyone. Excellent accommodation, beautiful setting and lovely ( if cold!) pool. Great location to explore Old Town. All staff very friendly and most helpful Thank you!
    Read less

  • Having a variety of options was great

    A review of Elaphiti Islands Active Adventure by Jeremy & Jane Seymour
    21 September 2019

    We had a one week Croatia Active holiday, 3 days on catamaran followed by 4 days in guest house on Sipan. What made the holiday was the kitchenette in the guest house, meant we didn't have to eat out every night. Having a variety of options was great - walking, cycling, paddle boarding, kayaking.

  • A wonderful week

    A review of Cruise the Islands and Cities of the Dalmatian Coast by Jennifer & Graham Longton
    07 September 2019

    We enjoyed a wonderful week aboard the Solaris, sunshine and relaxation. The views and places visited were stunning, really interesting places to explore. Swimming from the ship in the Adriatic was a real pleasure, the sea was warm and crystal clear. The crew were really helpful and friendly and professional. Breakfast was delicious and varied, as vegetarians, we found lunches and dinners on the
    Read more
    heavy side and lacking in variety, more middle European than Mediterranean cuisine.
    Read less

  • This is a memory that will never be forgotten

    A review of A Volcanic Wonderland by Nigel & Brenda Smith
    24 August 2019

    Everything arranged by Artisan was second to none. Thomas at Futurismo was outstanding, very professional and friendly as well as a fount of all knowledge when it comes to all things Azores. To see four different species of dolphins was awesome but the icing on the cake for us was witnessing the magnificent Sperm Whales. This is a memory that will never be forgotten. A very special thank you for
    Read more
    the wine and chocolates as a honeymoon gift from you and the hotel. It was a wonderful touch.
    Read less

  • There was nothing that we didn't enjoy!

    A review of A Volcanic Wonderland by Stuart & Patricia Bell
    10 August 2019

    We have just returned from a week on Sao Miguel in the Azores. We were expecting something special, which is why we chose this holiday. However, the week wildly exceeded our expectations. The island is beautiful and amazing, as are the people. We loved everything! Of course, dolphin and whale watching were fantastic, but every day was special in its own way. Everything was superbly
    Read more
    organised. Pick ups all happened on time, and while the days were full, we never felt rushed. The staff were so friendly, patient and knowledgeable. We are certain to go back there....
    Read less

Prev Next
  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information