Reviews

  • Loved the variety of different things we did

    A review of The Azores: A Volcanic Wonderland by The Roberts Family
    02 September 2017

    The swimming with dolphins was just incredible. We were very lucky and swam with dolphins on 3 occasions in the 2 hours we were out. On one occasion we were swimming with hundreds of dolphins it was just incredible.

  • The Kuhmo area and the people are amazing

    A review of Brown Bears of Finnish Lakeland by Yukiko Kuwata
    04 July 2017

    Everyone at Artisan Travel was so helpful and kind. My booking, transport etc was all sorted out without any issues. Hotel Kalevala was beautiful, the staff were all so kind and helpful, the food was great, sauna was great, Kuhmo was a charming town...basically I would love to return to Kuhmo and try everything all over again. Going into the wilderness and seeing a little bit of the wildlife was
    Read more
    truly wonderful. It is an amazing area. I also enjoyed borrowing Nordic walking sticks and walking a few miles to explore the village of Kuhmo and its surroundings. You could enjoy the scenery of the lakes, flowers and small wild animals easily. It did rain but still amazing. The village had a lovely cafe/bakery and a cultural centre (Juminkeko) that turned out to be much better than I had expected. The curator gave me a personal tour and explained so much about the Karelian culture.
    Read less

  • Land of the Midnight Sun

    A review of Torassieppi – Finnish Lapland Tailor Made by Sara Knight and Rachel & Emily Fisher
    19 June 2017

    As you can see, we had a wonderful time!

  • We had the most amazing week

    A review of Cruise the Islands and Cities of the Dalmatian Coast by Anantbala Quilter & Kumudben Morton
    10 June 2017

    We had the most amazing week. The crew were fantastic. They took great care of us. The rep Bruno looked after us v well. Overall the trip was fantastic. Allan and the team at ARTISAN TRAVEL were extremely helpful from start to finish. We were driving to Dubrovnik to board the ship and the directions were faultless. Allan thank you for going out of your way to look into the parking. The car park
    Read more
    was safe and a 2 min walk from where we had to board the ship and disembark. Thank you.
    Read less

  • This holiday was ideal for a relaxing break

    A review of Cruise the Islands and Cities of the Dalmatian Coast by Moira & Neil Fairweather
    13 May 2017

    The scenery was wonderful and this early in the season places were quiet which suited us. The local guide and crew were friendly and helpful.

  • Excellent Holiday - would love to do it again.

    A review of Harriniva - Five-Day Husky Safari by David Sedgewick
    02 April 2017

    As this was a short activity holiday little time was really spent in the Harriniva Centre but it was operated very efficiently and in a very friendly manner from what we experienced. On the husky safari, the local guide spoke good English and explained what was needed to be done very well. The 5 days (4 nights) out sledding with the dogs was an unforgettable experience. It was a great challenge
    Read more
    handling the sled and the dogs in sometimes very difficult conditions, especially when travelling through woodland along a narrow and very undulating route. The dogs, however, were amazingly easy to handle and loved their work and it was good to be able to look after them for the 5 days. We had a small party of 5 people plus the guide and everyone got on well together and got stuck into whatever jobs needed to be done. The least enjoyable activity was probably having to use the compostable toilets which were generally some distance from the log cabins and not warm. You also needed to remember to take a torch even during daylight!
    Read less

  • Our best holiday ever!!

    A review of Sörbyn Lodge - Tailor Made by Samantha and Shanessa Fernandes
    01 April 2017

    What an incredible experience we've had at Sörbyn Lodge. Right from the moment we were greeted at the airport to our return, the entire holiday ran like clockwork - we felt safe, comfortable, well taken care of, with minute attention to detail - be it the food or the activities. I'd highly recommend Sörbyn Lodge - our best holiday ever!!!

  • We enjoyed all of it!

    A review of Torassieppi - Tailor Made by Caroline & Edmund Tickner
    26 March 2017

    The accommodation was actually lovely, graded as good only because bathroom (wetroom really) rather cramped. Also, could have done with a comfy sofa... but aware this doesn't seem to be the Finnish norm! Food choice - was a set menu, so not really relevant. Activity guides all lovely, friendly people. Mostly very well qualified, though we did have a work experience girl with little English as a
    Read more
    cross-country ski tutor... we sort of understood as we have skied downhill before but she was struggling a little to explain techniques. Very nice girl though!! Torassieppi suggestion proved to be just right for us (quiet and unspoilt) so thanks for that, Graham! My husband really enjoyed the snowmobiles (because of the speed probably!). I loved the 25k husky trip - it was such a new experience to be driving a sled quite a long way (with only occasional moments of terror), and then arrive at a perfect lakeside hut to eat salmon cooked on a fire outside. Snowshoeing in the Pallas National Park was also wonderful, again cooking lunch on an open fire in a kota with Finns turning up on skis to do the same. We both found the natural environment amazingly peaceful and beautiful. Also, we were very lucky with brilliant sun during the day, -25C nights + Aurora every single night.
    Read less

  • What a wonderful weekend

    A review of Torassieppi - Tailor Made by Simon Taylor & Heather Griffin
    24 March 2017

    Everything's was taken care of from the moment we arrived at the airport in Finland. Torassieppi is a beautiful place with breathtaking views in all directions. Husky tour and snowmobile tour were a great experience which made my wife's 50th birthday very special (as did the kind gesture of a bottle of wine on the house and her birthday card - thank you so much). We were lucky enough to see the
    Read more
    Northern Lights on our last night! Our stay in the Aurora Dome was very special as were the two trips we did. Difficult to pick a winner as they were all great. Absolutely wonderful weekend perfectly organised by Artisan. Thank you.
    Read less

  • More than lived up to expectations

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Mary Piers
    19 March 2017

    The holiday was fantastic and more than lived up to expectations. A very well planned and organised holiday. Very good guides and instructors. So very friendly and helpful. The Husky sledding (was my favourite) because I just adore the huskies and I spent several hours out in the beautiful wilderness driving the tram. Thank you for all your assistance and a huge thank you to all in Utsjoki, I
    Read more
    could not have asked for better care and assistance. Activities fantastic. So very sorry to leave but I will be back in Sami country next year!!
    Read less

Next
  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete saftey net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

MrZenTravel Website Development