Reviews

  • Ruka - Tailor Made

    A review of Ruka - Tailor Made by Annie Le Prevost & Alexander Stuart
    03 February 2019

    This holiday was the perfect combination of relaxation and activities. The self catering apartment provided us with spacious accommodation in which to lounge around in, while the village of Ruka and the Ruka Safaris lodge offered an array of activities and entertainment options. It was nice to have the ability to cook meals in house and also enjoy the many superb restaurants located in the village
    Read more
    centre. Only a 10 minute walk away, Ruka had something for everyone.
    Read less

  • Simply, thank you for a wonderful experience & holiday. Will definitely book through Artisan again.

    A review of Harriniva - Tailor Made Week by Tracey De Bruyne & Kelly Ford
    27 January 2019

    My sister and I have been taking Arctic trips for the past 6 or 7 years, Finland, Norway, Iceland. This was our second trip to Finland and our first time with Artisan. It was my favourite trip of them all and Artisan were just fantastic in all aspects. Our Rep Katrina was literally a little ray of sunshine. Always smiling, always interested, knew her guests and what they were doing and couldn't't
    Read more
    have been more helpful. I work in the hospitality industry (Weddings/Events Manager) and I would employ her at the drop of a hat!! Very difficult to highlight one - they were all absolutely fantastic, with knowledgeable, helpful and very cheery guides (with the exception of the above!). Snowshoeing (nighttime and daytime with spa) were new ones for me, so I'm going with those!!
    Read less

  • Just a big thank you and hope to book with you again soon

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by Jenna Bugeja & Nicholas Drew
    25 January 2019

    I’ve never booked with Artisan travel and it was a great easy experience. I spoke with Andy about visiting Gulo Gulo in Ranua Finland . Andy told me he had stayed there with his family and had a great time. Andy managed to answer all my questions and was very knowledgeable. When we arrived the transfer was waiting they gave us all are lodge keys and itinerary so we knew what we were doing. No
    Read more
    waiting around at reception checking in. They took us to a local supermarket and dropped us off at Gulo Gulo. The place is stunning a few minutes walk to a 24hr reception ans restaurant for your meals. Breakfast and dinner was lovely and I’m fussy about good food. I wasn’t expecting it to be so nice I didn’t need any of my back up food I got from the supermarket. They had a good variety and was very filling buffet starter and a choice between two mains. One yummy dessert a night as much as you wanted. Breakfast hot and cold buffet which was all you needed great variety. I did think the restaurant looked a bit cold and canteen feel in the pictures before I went. I read a review saying it’s packed and so noisy. It couldn’t have been the opposite. It was cosy at night with fur a saved table for each loadge with candles. It was so much prettier I was pleasantly surprised. The lodge is big, clean, comfy and well equipped. Plain bedrooms loads of wardrobes. Sofa comfy and clean just not that luxury feel and quite ugly if I really need to find anything bad. I’d go back in a heartbeat it’s by far my favourite holiday. I booked two snowmobile trips one looking for Northern Lights which we saw slightly and the reindeer farm in the day which wasn’t so cold which made it more enjoyable. Feeding the bears was well worth it as the bears come close and you get a good view and can take videos and pictures. When I went back in the day to see the bears they were so far away I could hardly see them so catch them when they are hungry and waiting for breakfast just incase. Trips are great lots of time spent on them and well worth the money. All warm clothing and boots provided if you need them. I’d love to visit again and would highly recommend this holiday. I heard from many guests the husky ride is amazing and you get to guide them yourself and have loads of time so if I go back I will definitely try it.
    Read less

  • A very exciting and enjoyable holiday

    A review of Jeris - Winter Cottage Escape by Gareth Sowden & Gillian Stokes
    20 January 2019

    Lapland in the Winter is beautiful. We really enjoyed walking around and exploring the landscape. We also saw the Northern Lights, which was a wonderful bonus.

  • We were really looking forward to this holiday and it exceeded our expectations. Thank you!

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Carol Jepson & Philip Hardy
    20 January 2019

    The service from Artisan Travel has been excellent We were very impressed that we weren’t charged extra for going from a northern airport and that a stopover in Helsinki was also arranged at no extra cost Email response to any questions that we had before we travelled was very quick and helpful The information in the trip dossiers was very detailed and helpful The transfers to and from the
    Read more
    airport went smoothly and it was great that a meal had been provided for us when we arrived too late for the evening meal The accommodation was excellent; the room was large, warm and comfortable with a big bathroom and excellent shower. It was lovely to have tea and coffee making facilities and a refrigerator in the room (very unusual,for mainland Europe) The food was fabulous and plentiful with a good choice of fresh local ingredients and service in the restaurant was excellent We loved all the activities which were included as part of the holiday and the guides were helpful, personable and knowledgeable It was great to learn about the local history, geography, culture etc from the guides and the hotel owner and his family. We were pleased that all the guides were Finnish as we could learn more from them than we could have done from non-local guides. All the staff were friendly and approachable This is our fifth winter activity holiday in Northern Europe and the best so far. The clothing and equipment were of a very high standard and the skis that were freely available were the best we have used so far and much easier to put on! It was a truly fabulous holiday in a stunning location and the icing on the cake was the lovely staff and guides. We really enjoyed all the activities that were included as part of the holiday as well as the company of the guides. The highlight was probably the additional Aurora Tour that we booked . One of the guides was a real aurora expert and he added us to a WhatsApp group which was great as he sent us messages about when the aurora was predicted so we could see it from the hotel. We were really pleased that we booked the additional tour though as it was a magical experience to be pulled in a sleigh through the snowy forest and onto the high fell where we lit a fire and enjoyed a 369 degree view. I would really recommend this to other people if there is a clear sky and an aurora forecast We also did the trip to the Arctic Ocean which was wonderful.
    Read less

  • Ruka - Tailor Made

    A review of Ruka - Tailor Made by Gillian & Lyn Edwards
    20 January 2019

    You did a fabulous job and we really appreciated it.

  • The whole holiday was wonderful and we enjoyed all the activities tried

    A review of Saija - Husky Safari by Alexandra & Catherine Fowler
    12 January 2019

    I absolutely adored the holiday and it’s magical being out in the Finnish winter wonderland with the dogs. It might be a good idea to note that some of the trails are tricky to drive and you do have to have a certain basic level of fitness to be out all day with the dogs. Really nice accommodation with our own sauna in the room. The food was delicious with vegetarians very well catered for.
    Read more
    Guides and all staff at Saija were knowledgeable and helpful.
    Read less

  • All spot on!

    A review of Utsjoki - New Year Twice by Lynne Vipond
    07 January 2019

    The only reason I would not go back to Utsjoki is because there are so many places in the world to visit and so little time in which to do it! All spot on!

  • Well done Artisan Travel

    A review of Jeris - Winter Adventure by The Kavanagh Family
    06 January 2019

    We had a party of 9 and all of us had a fabulous time. Staff were great and it was fabulous we were able to chat with Katrina (Artisan Travel rep) every day. Having coffee/tea facilities in the rooms would have been the only thing I would request. Otherwise everything was as discussed if not more. Our safari guides were fabulous, very friendly and knowledge of the local area which was an
    Read more
    advantage. I was a little unsure of what to expect coming from Australia and never having done anything like this before. It was such an enjoyable experience and I will be recommending Artisan to anyone that may look at going from here in Australia.
    Read less

  • Harriniva - Winter Adventure

    A review of Harriniva - Winter Adventure by David & Dorothy Griffiths
    06 January 2019

    We have been four times which is testimony to how much we enjoy Harriniva.

Next
  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information