Reviews

  • The whole holiday was fantastic

    A review of Jeris - Winter Adventure by Clare Rickard & Dean Prior
    29 February 2016

    All the activities were brilliant but nothing beats handling the huskies. The whole holiday was fantastic. Thank you.

  • Absolutely fantastic

    A review of Luosto - Taster Week - Log Cabin by David & Julie Balfour
    28 February 2016

    Absolutely fantastic. Would recommend 100%. Spot on.

  • A fabulous week at Torassieppi

    A review of Torassieppi - Winter Retreat by Beverley Scammell
    21 February 2016

    We spent a fabulous week at Torassieppi for my husband’s 60th birthday treat. Our cabin was lovely and having our own fire was a real bonus, making the accommodation really homely. All the activities were excellent; well organised with friendly, helpful and (in my case with skiing) very patient staff. Indeed, everyone at the centre was delightful......nothing was too much trouble. We were
    Read more
    particularly looking forward to the husky day and we were not disappointed; utterly thrilling. Equally some of the less demanding activities were superb. These included a thoroughly enjoyable cooking experience, meeting the gentle reindeer and even managing to make a woven braid together. The centre is well-equipped, with everything nearby. We would thoroughly recommend this holiday for young and old alike, families and couples......it was superb. Many thanks to all concerned.
    Read less

  • In all, it was a fabulous week, and we loved every minute of it

    A review of Jeris - Lapland Winter Cottage Week by Derek & Susan Alsford
    20 February 2016

    Our trip took place between 20th and 26th February 2016. We had planned this trip as far back as March 2015 as a joint 60th birthday treat. It was well worth the wait. It met, and exceeded in places, all of our expectations. The Cabin was well-equipped, especially the well utilised Sauna, and the drying cabinet. We never had an issue keeping our clothing dry. The food in the Hotel was very good,
    Read more
    and was well presented and served. Katrina, our resort rep, was very knowledgeable about all our activities, as was our Activity Guide, Darren. Both were very helpful and keen to see us enjoy ourselves. Darren certainly knows the area, and the chance to give the snowmobiles the full beans on the icy lakes was, for me, a real highlight. As we were a party of 2, we really did have individual treatment. The overnight experience in the wilderness cabin was brilliant. Getting the fire to light (eventually, with a second box of matches) made the Sauna experience in the middle of nowhere an experience not to forget. The trip to Torassieppi and the Huskies was another dream fulfilled, 3 month old puppies certainly are quite heavy, but very cuddly. The Reindeer sleigh ride through the forest and deep snow was very enjoyable, as was the visit to the Ice Hotel for lunch. The Snowshoeing and Skiing day gave us the chance to try these activities for the very first time, and we came through with no falls or injuries. The Sun made an appearance for 4 hours on the last day of our stay, which gave us enough time to walk over the lake to the Reindeer cafe to enjoy a hot bun and a coffee, and enjoy the views of the into the National Park area. Laying in the spa pools looking out over the Lake was very relaxing. We didn't get to see the Aurora lights, the weather unfortunately reduced our chances of that. However, we did spend a couple of hours after our evening meal, on the 2 clear nights we had, sitting on the lake, in the darkness, in the hope they would make an appearance, but it was not to be. Oh well, looks like we will have to go back for another try. In all, it was a fabulous week, and we loved every minute of it.
    Read less

  • Seeing the Aurora on one night was a bonus

    A review of Tromsø and The Lyngen Alps by John Barrott
    15 February 2016

    The chalets at Koppangen were very good. Alf was a perfect host and couldn't do enough for us. His food was fantastic. All (activities) were good, and seeing the Aurora on one night was a bonus.

  • A 'once in a lifetime' experience

    A review of Luosto - Lapland Taster Week by Sarah March
    14 February 2016

    All of the activities were very enjoyable and we had the most amazing time. Luosto is a very special place to be in the winter. We were provided with an accurate description of the holiday and were very well informed of what we would experience. The holiday surpassed both of our expectations and it truly was a 'once in a lifetime' experience.

  • The Aurora was on show again on our last night in Iceland - magic!

    by Alan Middleton
    07 February 2016

    Iceland - South Shore self-drive holiday The Aurora was on show again on our last night in Iceland - magic! Having travelled last year to Lapland to view the Northern Lights and experienced the wilderness at Nellim I was keen to seek an experience to equal or surpass that trip. Wow, this trip to Iceland has done that for us from the moment we left. We travelled around the south shore - with some
    Read more
    stunning waterfalls, black beaches, pounding surf, glaciers, icebergs, seals, Icelandic ponies and arctic landscapes. A photographer's paradise!  We are now thinking of a return trip to Iceland in the Spring or Summer next year - it is the type of location you could return to over and over again seeing something new every visit.
    Read less

  • The aurora was on show again on our last night in Iceland - magic!

    A review of Exceptional Iceland – The Golden Circle, Glacier Lagoon and Reykjavik by Alan Middleton
    07 February 2016

    Having travelled last year to Lapland to view the Northern Lights and experienced the wilderness at Nellim I was keen to seek an experience to equal or surpass that trip. Wow, this trip to Iceland has done that for us from the moment we left. A trouble-free flight out of Bristol which was more conveninent for us than travelling to Gatwick from our home in Cornwall. Landed in Keflavik and within
    Read more
    15 minutes we had our bags and were picking up the hire car, a Toyota Rav4 AWD - a must have in the winter conditions, a normal car is just not up to the job for touring. The sat-nav was a bit hit and miss but this didn't phase us as we'd mapped our route in advance and knew the general location along route-1. The route over the mountains leaving Reykjavik was "interesting" on the ice and snow covered roads - glad we had the AWD vehicle. Stunning sights along the way to Hella for our first night, about 1.5 hours drive from Keflavik. Hotel Stracta (the substitute for Hotel Ranga that was booked out) was easy to find and proved to be a great location. Friendly and helpful staff, good food and comfortable rooms. There was a slight showing of the aurora on our first night but it was so faint (not helped by the light pollution from around the village - if they could only arrange to put lights out when an aurora shows like they did in Lapland) that it was not really worth the inconvenience at 1:30am in the freezing cold. We enjoyed our first sauna and hot tub in the snow - pretty cold getting back to the room in flimsy bathrobes! Over the next two days we travelled around the south shore - with some stunning waterfalls, black beaches, pounding surf, glaciers, icebergs, seals, Icelandic ponies and arctic landscapes. A photographer's paradise! The only negative for us at Hella was the hotel is geared up for coach loads of people - which did not present a problem for us - however, we enjoy smaller hotels with less people around. We left Hella for Hveragerthi to stay at the Frost and Fire Hotel. Wow - what a magic place this is set in alongside the river, thermal springs and vents (smell the sulphur), hot tubs and Northern Lights from your own balcony!! The food was simply sensational, we cannot recommend it highly enough. The next day was spent at Geysir and Gullfoss - awesome! Later we headed over to Blue Lagoon to see if we could swim/soak in the thermal pools - as we hadn't booked in advance (yes needed even in winter) we were going to have to wait for about 3 hours, so we decided to return to the hotel and use their hot tubs alongside the river instead - very relaxing. The aurora was on show again on our last night in Iceland - magic! The drive to the airport next morning in the blizzard was interesting but we had plenty of time to drop the car, check-in and relax in the airport before a trouble-free (although slightly delayed due to spraying the aircraft for ice) flight back to Bristol. We are now thinking of a return trip to Iceland in the Spring or Summer next year - it is the type of location you could return to over and over again seeing something new every visit. Best suggestion from a friend who had been working there was to take slip on crampons for your footwear in winter as all the paths to any attraction are covered in ice (not snow unless freshly fallen) - we walked everywhere without a hitch whilst others risked life and limb sliding everywhere.
    Read less

  • The whole trip was just amazing, exceeded all expectations

    A review of Torassieppi - Winter Retreat by Corinna McShane
    07 February 2016

    The whole trip was just amazing, exceeded all expectations. Torassieppi is a true wilderness that touched our hearts. The restaurant team went to great lengths to produce vegetarian options which were very welcome. The day/night time reindeer safaris were fantastic, so unusual. The solo husky driving was exhilarating but quite terrifying at times (in a good way!). A real highlight. The snow
    Read more
    shoeing in Pallas Fell National Park was breathtaking, just loved it. Our guide Piia was lovely - really helpful and such great fun, her love of the local area was infectious.
    Read less

  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information