Reviews

  • We enjoyed all of it!

    A review of Torassieppi - Tailor Made by Caroline & Edmund Tickner
    26 March 2017

    The accommodation was actually lovely, graded as good only because bathroom (wetroom really) rather cramped. Also, could have done with a comfy sofa... but aware this doesn't seem to be the Finnish norm! Food choice - was a set menu, so not really relevant. Activity guides all lovely, friendly people. Mostly very well qualified, though we did have a work experience girl with little English as a
    Read more
    cross-country ski tutor... we sort of understood as we have skied downhill before but she was struggling a little to explain techniques. Very nice girl though!! Torassieppi suggestion proved to be just right for us (quiet and unspoilt) so thanks for that, Graham! My husband really enjoyed the snowmobiles (because of the speed probably!). I loved the 25k husky trip - it was such a new experience to be driving a sled quite a long way (with only occasional moments of terror), and then arrive at a perfect lakeside hut to eat salmon cooked on a fire outside. Snowshoeing in the Pallas National Park was also wonderful, again cooking lunch on an open fire in a kota with Finns turning up on skis to do the same. We both found the natural environment amazingly peaceful and beautiful. Also, we were very lucky with brilliant sun during the day, -25C nights + Aurora every single night.
    Read less

  • What a wonderful weekend

    A review of Torassieppi - Tailor Made by Simon Taylor & Heather Griffin
    24 March 2017

    Everything was taken care of from the moment we arrived at the airport in Finland. Torassieppi is a beautiful place with breathtaking views in all directions. Husky tour and snowmobile tour were a great experience which made my wife's 50th birthday very special (as did the kind gesture of a bottle of wine on the house and her birthday card - thank you so much). We were lucky enough to see the
    Read more
    Northern Lights on our last night! Our stay in the Aurora Dome was very special as were the two trips we did. Difficult to pick a winner as they were all great. Absolutely wonderful weekend perfectly organised by Artisan. Thank you.
    Read less

  • More than lived up to expectations

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Mary Piers
    19 March 2017

    The holiday was fantastic and more than lived up to expectations. A very well planned and organised holiday. Very good guides and instructors. So very friendly and helpful. The Husky sledding (was my favourite) because I just adore the huskies and I spent several hours out in the beautiful wilderness driving the tram. Thank you for all your assistance and a huge thank you to all in Utsjoki, I
    Read more
    could not have asked for better care and assistance. Activities fantastic. So very sorry to leave but I will be back in Sami country next year!!
    Read less

  • This was perfect and surpassed the expectations of all 5 in the group.

    A review of Ivalo - Three Day Wilderness Husky Safari by Valerie Yates group
    14 March 2017

    We had been told the hotel in Ivalo was basic, however, we found it very good and more than suited our needs. The whole experience was more than we could ever have imagined. We did it as a challenge for personal reasons particularly for one of the group. We were all apprehensive (it wouldn't have been a challenge otherwise), but ended up feeling proud of every one of us. We were taken aback by the
    Read more
    peacefulness, the clarity of the stars, the expanse of sky and the scenery. Photographs, videos and words cannot do any part of the trip justice. We were extremely lucky and saw the Northern Lights on both nights in the wilderness. Our guide, Samili was perfect for us and looked after and supported us all. As for the dogs, well what can you say, they are beautiful and very loyal and hard working. Each of us in the group would have no hesitation in recommending this trip to everyone to add to their bucket list. It was very hard work, but perfect and worth every single ache we came away with. A huge part of my work role is customer support and I have to say that we really cannot fault any aspect of the trip. That includes the support from all at Artisan and partners right from my first enquiry over a year before departure, to after arriving home and the support trying to locate the item which was removed from my suitcase at Ivalo.
    Read less

  • We really cannot fault any aspect of the trip

    A review of Ivalo - Three Day Wilderness Husky Safari by Val Yates and friends
    14 March 2017

    A huge part of my work role is customer support and I have to say that we really cannot fault any aspect of the trip. That includes the support from all at Artisan Travel and partners right from my first enquiry over a year before departure, to after arriving home and the support trying to locate the item which was removed from my suitcase at Ivalo.

  • Thanks again for a great holiday

    A review of Harriniva - Five-Day Husky Safari by Pete & Ali Kennington
    12 March 2017

    We found your web site easy to use and informative and the booking process was simple and straightforward. The sales, after sales and administrative teams, were very helpful and the pre-trip documentation was easy to access and comprehensive. The transfer vehicles were clean, comfortable, prompt and safely driven. We stayed in the Harriniva Hotel on our first and last evenings and
    Read more
    not in a safari cabin – we were happy to have a double room rather than shared accommodation. The hotel was friendly and comfortable with a good choice and quality of food. Hanski, our guide for the 5-day husky safari, was excellent. The wilderness cabins were as described and in good locations. The food was very good local produce and there was plenty of it. We used most of the equipment provided and it was of good quality. Overall it was an excellent trip and if Artisan Travel were offering a holiday that suited our needs we would book with you again.
    Read less

  • We very much enjoyed this trip

    A review of Harriniva - Five-Day Husky Safari by Suzanne & David Rampersad
    05 March 2017

    We were well looked after by our guide who helped us to learn how to drive the sledges and look after the dogs. The scenery was lovely. The sledge riding was not too technical or challenging. At the end of each day there were camp chores to be done which were quite part of the experience of living in the wilderness. We found these highly enjoyable. In all it was a great way of getting away from
    Read more
    every day cares. The food was much better than we expected. It was good hearty food although not overly fancy. The saunas were good and hot. This is a wilderness trip so the accommodation was quite basic with outdoor drop toilets so you need to be prepared for this.
    Read less

  • The Iditarod, the Northern Lights and much more

    A review of The Spirit of Alaska: Iditarod by Toni Whitham & Helen Bannan
    01 March 2017

    My friend Helen and I recently got back from Alaska where we saw the Iditarod, the Northern Lights and much more. I just wanted to say a massive thank you for all the help you gave while we were planning our dream trip that we thought would be once-in-a-lifetime but after seeing it we both know in our hearts we will going back again. Thank You All!!

  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information