Reviews

  • No problems about booking

    A review of Kirkenes - Northern Lights And the Snowhotel by Richard Smith
    27 February 2015

    No problems about booking. Good information provided. Your local agent, Pasvikturist was very helpful and made it possible for us to book an additional activity. Their use of small local providers in addition to the Snowhotel company gave the holiday a personal touch as the group sizes were mostly quite small. The Thon Hotel is very well situated (we saw the Northern Lights twice from it) and the
    Read more
    food is good. The Rica Arctic has now changed its name to Scandia. Other local attractions are Surf and Turf in Kirkenes for food, and the Borderlands Museum.
    Read less

  • Everything was unbelievable

    A review of Saija - Husky Safari by Delyth Jones
    27 February 2015

    Everything was unbelievable; the quality of this holiday cannot be exaggerated. The organisation of flights, transfers and accommodation was superb. The safari activity was beyond expectations in all aspects and the people we met could not have been more helpful and friendly. We enjoyed every minute of every day.

  • Our reps (Karen and Graham) were really lovely and helpful...

    A review of Luosto - Log Cabin Taster Week by John Robinson
    27 February 2015

    Our reps (Karen and Graham) were really lovely and helpful and whenever they saw us would come over for a chat and see how we were getting on, nothing like any reps I've known on holidays in the past who have often been completely absent or only there to try to sell trips!

  • All in all a value for money holiday

    A review of Harriniva - Winter Adventure by Andy Gibson
    26 February 2015

    The dog sled trip was the biggest highlight - we plan to do a multi-day trip now! The whole open-fire eating outdoor experience on the three safari's was also worthy of praise. Over all a superb holiday. Accommodation great; food varied and great; staff excellent - all in all a value for money holiday.

  • Vastly exceeded our expectations

    A review of Luosto - Tailor Made - Log Cabin by Gerwyn Williams
    18 February 2015

    Simply thought that everything was first class. Vastly exceeded our expectations.

  • Fantastic experience

    by Nigel Robinson
    16 February 2015

    Fantastic experience. Everything ran like clockwork. Dog sledding without a doubt..amazing! Saw the Northern Lights three times and combing this with the huskies, it was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Thank you.

  • Fantastic experience, everything ran like clockwork

    A review of Harriniva - Winter Adventure by Nigel Robinson
    16 February 2015

    Fantastic experience, everything ran like clockwork. Dog sledding without a doubt..amazing! Saw the Northern Lights 3 times and combining this with the huskies it was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Thank you.

  • Fantastic holiday, loved every bit of it

    A review of Luosto - Log Cabin Taster Week by Stuart Lowney-Reger
    16 February 2015

    Fantastic holiday, loved every bit of it, Karen and Graham were excellent, very approachable, gave lots of useful information and very caring, even brought us a bottle of wine for our birthday celebrations. The activities were brilliant, we did the taster week and got to experience so much and enjoyed every activity, the guides were also amazing and patient with us. The food was delicious in the
    Read more
    Kelo Restaurant, but the main buffet was not as good but still tasty. Our transfer there was smooth however on the way back the flight got changed and was disruptive however it could not be helped and we landed home on time with our luggage. All the equipment was provided for the whole stay and was very useful, I would have brought my own mitts as the ones provided were very big and snow games only had 1 size. We loved all the activities but must enjoyable was the husky safari, everyone had a great time, and was such an amazing experience. The guide Laura was excellent very clear and lovely to talk to. Although the snow trek to search for the northern lights was fun there was a big group of us, would have preferred smaller groups on the trek. Most activities there were just 3 couples which was a good number of people. Also the reindeer safari was probably the most slow paced but still fun and glad we did it. The log cabin was great, very homely.
    Read less

  • An experience of a lifetime and everything was perfect!

    by Simon Payne
    15 February 2015

     Well this was the first winter trip for my partner and I, it was booked 2 weeks before travelling so very rushed and I was concerned that things may have been missed when booking, this was not a concern as everything was catered for.Day 1When we landed at the Rovaniemi Airport we were greeted by a 52 seater coach just for the 2 of us! We then were taken on the 1.5hr journey to Lousto where
    Read more
    we were greeted by our local Reps Graham and Karen about 19:30 in the evening, they took us to the log cabin to drop our bags off then straight to the Hotel for our tea. The spread was lovely with lots to choose from.After dining we then made our way back to the log cabin, we were still in what we thought was winter clothing and we could feel the -16!Day 2 & 3We had left these days free to find our feet. We went to the Snow Games office to collect our winter gear first thing, once we had this kit on we were as warm as toast! Exploring the local craft shops and just wandering about was very enjoyable, the snow was so dry (not like the wet stuff we get in the UK!) the air was crisp and fresh.We made a daytime walk around the local lake that was very nice (this was to be repeated later at night), took lots of photographs. We met a couple and booked a Skiing session (very reasonably priced!) first time in 25 years!Day 4Huskies day, Met up at Snow Games at 10:00 and were transported to the husky farm about an half an hour away, we were given an introductory talk then onto the sleds, this was an unforgettable experience, it was sunny and very cold, the dogs went wild when they realised they were setting off! They loved the snow as much as we did! This was finished off by a tour around the husky farm and a cup of tea! We also managed to sneak off from the group and went to see the reindeers that were just next door!Later that day we went for an evening walk around the lake, this walk is only short and the path is flat and very well cleared, at night they have the path lit up with lovely little cone shaped lights and every so often there are floodlights lighting up the snow covered trees. on the path there is a Kota, this is a little hut that the locals use for meeting outdoors (they are scattered all over the wilderness), we stopped to light a fire from the burning embers, around the back there was a large shed full of wood!Day 5As of yet we had not seen the Northern Lights as it had been snowing or cloudy every day, today it was crisp and clear. We were booked on the evening tour so we met at Snow Games at 16:00 just as it was going dark, to our surprise we were the only ones on the snowmobile tour! The others were going by bus! Our guide gave me the introductory safety talk and familiarisation with the snowmobile as this was my first time on one! We set off taking it steady, they were very easy to ride and control and it wasn’t long before we were making good progress, a lot bumpier than I had expected and it took a while before I stopped trying to keep the front skis in a straight line and let them follow their natural course this then became a lot easier. It took about 2hrs to get to the Kota and the sky was still clear. We were greeted by the lady that gave us a lovely bun and cup of tea while she talked about the Northern Lights.After finishing the talk we went outside and we saw the first glimmers of the lights on the horizon, it was still early yet and we decided to stop on the way back to see if we could see them any better! After about an hour we stopped at a clearing and there we could clearly see the lights, what a spectacular finish to the holiday! Managed to get a few photos before we set off back. When we got back the sky had clouded over so we couldn’t see anything after that!Day 6Up very early as we had a 12hr journey back to the UK (5hr wait at Helsinki)This has been an experience of a lifetime and everything was perfect!Big Thank You to everyone 
    Read less

  • The guide was excellent, great fun and very helpful

    A review of Luosto - Tailor Made - Log Cabin by Simon Payne
    15 February 2015

    Evening snowmobile to Northern Lights; when we got there we found out that there was only us going on the tour! The guide was excellent; great fun and very helpful when I wanted to keep stopping for photos. He was always checking we were ok and warm and nothing was too much trouble for him! Thank You

  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information