Reviews

  • This was a fantastic experience from start to finish

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Sarah and Mark Weeks
    03 March 2019

    The transfer arrangements were very smooth at both ends, and the hotel and its staff were excellent. Everything was perfectly organised and the itinerary set up worked really well and had sufficient flexibility to enable us to alter things as necessary for the best experience. In fact, this only happened with the Aurora tour, with our guide, Antti, who was terrific throughout, waiting until he
    Read more
    felt the best night on which to take it (and, my word, was that a good decision!). Taking the Aurora trip was really worth it, although the lights could be seen from the hotel on two other occasions. The snowmobile safari was breath-taking and the Arctic Ocean trip fantastic. We also really enjoyed the dog-sled trip in Norway. The food was consistently very good, and the service in the restaurant very friendly. The quality of the Wi-Fi was a bonus when you think where you are. All in all, this could hardly be faulted and we are still floating from such a fantastic week. The Arctic truly is a beautiful and invigorating place and Holiday Village Valle was the ideal place from which to experience it.
    Read less

  • We enjoyed everything about what we had booked. There was no activity that could not be improved upon.

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by Susan & Peter Farrer
    27 February 2019

    Our 5 day experience at Ranua was fantastic from start to finish. Guide met us at Rovaniemi Airport and transported us directly to the Holiday Village Gulo Gulo. Everything went very smoothly. Accommodation great and guides and staff very very helpful. We had not pre-booked a snow mobile safari looking for the Northern Lights as we wanted to see the conditions when we arrived. The guides were so
    Read more
    confident that on Thursday night the 28th Feb. the conditions for seeing the lights were forecast to be good we decided to go. We were not disappointed. Even before we arrived at the destination the lights appeared all around us so we stopped for about 1/2 hr. before continuing on. Absolutely amazing spectacle with all the colours greens, purples, yellows etc. dancing in the sky. We continued on to reach our stop for a fire, hot drinks and to cook sausages and of course the lights appeared again. We were so lucky and I know our guides Jani and Marcelo had not seen them so good for a couple of years. We have some amazing photos and even managed to capture the lights on my IPhone which was good with no tripod!! We had one night at the Fox Igloos and again we saw the lights. Even managed to get the lights above the igloo which was amazing.
    Read less

  • Ivalo - Guesthouse Three Day Husky Safari

    by Amanda & Russell Brown
    27 February 2019

    Really lovely holiday and the husky sledding was an amazing experience. We really liked the fact that we got out into the wilds and away from any touristy trappings

  • Luosto - Lapland Taster Week

    A review of Luosto - Lapland Taster Week by Marianne Elloy & John Stephens
    22 February 2019

    The activities were all great in different ways - the programme was varied and fun but did leave enough time for relaxation. The Lapland safaris guides were fantastic and gave a great introduction ensuring we had lots of fun and learnt about our activities but stayed with us at the same time.

  • Jeris - Winter Cottage Escape

    A review of Jeris - Winter Cottage Escape by The Knight Family
    17 February 2019

    We loved everything. On our last day we chose to do Wilderness Cooking. It turned out that no one had chosen this activity before but Jenni, our guide, made it up and we had a fantastic time, sitting in the sunshine on the frozen lake cooking salmon over an camp fire that we had made. A great experience and memory. One of many. Every activity lived up to expectations and the staff at Jeris were
    Read more
    very helpful. The whole family love dogs so the husky sledging was probably the overall favourite although my son would probably say snowmobiling. The excitement of the dogs is wonderful to see and the peace of sledging through the snow with only the sound of dogs panting and sledges on snow is unforgettable.
    Read less

  • I will certainly look at Artisan Travel fo my next holiday.

    A review of Harriniva - Five-Day Husky Safari by Jennifer Back
    17 February 2019

    The quality of food and choice was amazing considering the remote location. The huskies were incredible and it was so good to be out in such a pristine environment. I will certainly look at Artisan Travel fo my next holiday. Flights and transfers were excellent too.

  • Ranua - Tailor Made

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by The Gallienne Family
    15 February 2019

    Overall the holiday was fantastic and magical and well organised by Artisan Travel. Dawn especially was very helpful, went above and beyond to organise and answer our questions. Dawn reassured us following a number of queries we had, not having experienced a winter snow holiday previously. Dawn comes across as a genuine and helpful person and has real knowledge of the subject matter. Flights were
    Read more
    on time, staff were helpful. Accommodation was superb. Warm and cosy but modern and had everything we needed. All guides from the coach to the activities were really helpful and obviously had extensive knowledge of their subject. 
    Read less

  • We have just returned from an amazing week in Utsjoki

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Mary and Derek Scofield
    10 February 2019

    The staff were all brilliant in looking after us. Everyone spoke excellent English. The food and accommodation were excellent. The programme passed our expectations and we were able to fit into our week reindeer and husky safaris, ice fishing, Arctic swim and fell skiing and experiencing the Northern Lights. The two guides looked after us so well and all the equipment needed for the climate and
    Read more
    activities was provided. The peace and quiet and scenery were all quite magical and we learned about the Sami people. It was good to know the teenagers who came to the traditional dinner were intent on keeping their culture alive despite the 21st century. Many thanks for arranging our holiday.
    Read less

  • Many thanks for arranging our holiday.

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Mary and Derek Scofield
    10 February 2019

    We have just returned from an amazing week in Utsjoki. The staff were all brilliant in looking after us. Everyone spoke excellent English. The food and accommodation were excellent. The programme passed our expectations and we were able to fit into our week reindeer and husky safaris, ice fishing, Arctic swim and fell skiing and experiencing the Northern Lights. The two guides looked after us so
    Read more
    well and all the equipment needed for the climate and activities was provided. The peace and quiet and scenery were all quite magical and we learned about the Sami people. It was good to know the teenagers who came to the traditional dinner were intent on keeping their culture alive despite the 21st century. Many thanks for arranging our holiday.
    Read less

  • Ruka - Tailor Made

    A review of Ruka - Tailor Made by Annie Le Prevost & Alexander Stuart
    03 February 2019

    This holiday was the perfect combination of relaxation and activities. The self catering apartment provided us with spacious accommodation in which to lounge around in, while the village of Ruka and the Ruka Safaris lodge offered an array of activities and entertainment options. It was nice to have the ability to cook meals in house and also enjoy the many superb restaurants located in the village
    Read more
    centre. Only a 10 minute walk away, Ruka had something for everyone.
    Read less

Prev Next
  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information