Reviews

  • Luosto - Lapland Taster Week

    A review of Luosto - Lapland Taster Week by Marianne Elloy & John Stephens
    22 February 2019

    The activities were all great in different ways - the programme was varied and fun but did leave enough time for relaxation. The Lapland safaris guides were fantastic and gave a great introduction ensuring we had lots of fun and learnt about our activities but stayed with us at the same time.

  • Jeris - Winter Cottage Escape

    A review of Jeris - Winter Cottage Escape by The Knight Family
    17 February 2019

    We loved everything. On our last day we chose to do Wilderness Cooking. It turned out that no one had chosen this activity before but Jenni, our guide, made it up and we had a fantastic time, sitting in the sunshine on the frozen lake cooking salmon over an camp fire that we had made. A great experience and memory. One of many. Every activity lived up to expectations and the staff at Jeris were
    Read more
    very helpful. The whole family love dogs so the husky sledging was probably the overall favourite although my son would probably say snowmobiling. The excitement of the dogs is wonderful to see and the peace of sledging through the snow with only the sound of dogs panting and sledges on snow is unforgettable.
    Read less

  • I will certainly look at Artisan Travel fo my next holiday.

    A review of Harriniva - Five-Day Husky Safari by Jennifer Back
    17 February 2019

    The quality of food and choice was amazing considering the remote location. The huskies were incredible and it was so good to be out in such a pristine environment. I will certainly look at Artisan Travel fo my next holiday. Flights and transfers were excellent too.

  • Ranua - Tailor Made

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by The Gallienne Family
    15 February 2019

    Overall the holiday was fantastic and magical and well organised by Artisan Travel. Dawn especially was very helpful, went above and beyond to organise and answer our questions. Dawn reassured us following a number of queries we had, not having experienced a winter snow holiday previously. Dawn comes across as a genuine and helpful person and has real knowledge of the subject matter. Flights were
    Read more
    on time, staff were helpful. Accommodation was superb. Warm and cosy but modern and had everything we needed. All guides from the coach to the activities were really helpful and obviously had extensive knowledge of their subject. 
    Read less

  • We have just returned from an amazing week in Utsjoki

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Mary and Derek Scofield
    10 February 2019

    The staff were all brilliant in looking after us. Everyone spoke excellent English. The food and accommodation were excellent. The programme passed our expectations and we were able to fit into our week reindeer and husky safaris, ice fishing, Arctic swim and fell skiing and experiencing the Northern Lights. The two guides looked after us so well and all the equipment needed for the climate and
    Read more
    activities was provided. The peace and quiet and scenery were all quite magical and we learned about the Sami people. It was good to know the teenagers who came to the traditional dinner were intent on keeping their culture alive despite the 21st century. Many thanks for arranging our holiday.
    Read less

  • Many thanks for arranging our holiday.

    A review of Utsjoki - The Top of Finland by Mary and Derek Scofield
    10 February 2019

    We have just returned from an amazing week in Utsjoki. The staff were all brilliant in looking after us. Everyone spoke excellent English. The food and accommodation were excellent. The programme passed our expectations and we were able to fit into our week reindeer and husky safaris, ice fishing, Arctic swim and fell skiing and experiencing the Northern Lights. The two guides looked after us so
    Read more
    well and all the equipment needed for the climate and activities was provided. The peace and quiet and scenery were all quite magical and we learned about the Sami people. It was good to know the teenagers who came to the traditional dinner were intent on keeping their culture alive despite the 21st century. Many thanks for arranging our holiday.
    Read less

  • Ruka - Tailor Made

    A review of Ruka - Tailor Made by Annie Le Prevost & Alexander Stuart
    03 February 2019

    This holiday was the perfect combination of relaxation and activities. The self catering apartment provided us with spacious accommodation in which to lounge around in, while the village of Ruka and the Ruka Safaris lodge offered an array of activities and entertainment options. It was nice to have the ability to cook meals in house and also enjoy the many superb restaurants located in the village
    Read more
    centre. Only a 10 minute walk away, Ruka had something for everyone.
    Read less

  • Ranua - Tailor Made

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by The Fearn Family
    01 February 2019

    The husky sledding was fun, exciting, informative and the dogs had great personalities. The ice fishing was most enjoyable for my partner it was something he'd always wanted to do and successfully catching fish made it all the better.

  • Simply, thank you for a wonderful experience & holiday. Will definitely book through Artisan again.

    A review of Harriniva - Tailor Made Week by Tracey De Bruyne & Kelly Ford
    27 January 2019

    My sister and I have been taking Arctic trips for the past 6 or 7 years, Finland, Norway, Iceland. This was our second trip to Finland and our first time with Artisan. It was my favourite trip of them all and Artisan were just fantastic in all aspects. Our Rep Katrina was literally a little ray of sunshine. Always smiling, always interested, knew her guests and what they were doing and couldn't't
    Read more
    have been more helpful. I work in the hospitality industry (Weddings/Events Manager) and I would employ her at the drop of a hat!! Very difficult to highlight one - they were all absolutely fantastic, with knowledgeable, helpful and very cheery guides (with the exception of the above!). Snowshoeing (nighttime and daytime with spa) were new ones for me, so I'm going with those!!
    Read less

  • Just a big thank you and hope to book with you again soon

    A review of Ranua - Tailor Made by Jenna Bugeja & Nicholas Drew
    25 January 2019

    I’ve never booked with Artisan travel and it was a great easy experience. I spoke with Andy about visiting Gulo Gulo in Ranua Finland . Andy told me he had stayed there with his family and had a great time. Andy managed to answer all my questions and was very knowledgeable. When we arrived the transfer was waiting they gave us all are lodge keys and itinerary so we knew what we were doing. No
    Read more
    waiting around at reception checking in. They took us to a local supermarket and dropped us off at Gulo Gulo. The place is stunning a few minutes walk to a 24hr reception ans restaurant for your meals. Breakfast and dinner was lovely and I’m fussy about good food. I wasn’t expecting it to be so nice I didn’t need any of my back up food I got from the supermarket. They had a good variety and was very filling buffet starter and a choice between two mains. One yummy dessert a night as much as you wanted. Breakfast hot and cold buffet which was all you needed great variety. I did think the restaurant looked a bit cold and canteen feel in the pictures before I went. I read a review saying it’s packed and so noisy. It couldn’t have been the opposite. It was cosy at night with fur a saved table for each loadge with candles. It was so much prettier I was pleasantly surprised. The lodge is big, clean, comfy and well equipped. Plain bedrooms loads of wardrobes. Sofa comfy and clean just not that luxury feel and quite ugly if I really need to find anything bad. I’d go back in a heartbeat it’s by far my favourite holiday. I booked two snowmobile trips one looking for Northern Lights which we saw slightly and the reindeer farm in the day which wasn’t so cold which made it more enjoyable. Feeding the bears was well worth it as the bears come close and you get a good view and can take videos and pictures. When I went back in the day to see the bears they were so far away I could hardly see them so catch them when they are hungry and waiting for breakfast just incase. Trips are great lots of time spent on them and well worth the money. All warm clothing and boots provided if you need them. I’d love to visit again and would highly recommend this holiday. I heard from many guests the husky ride is amazing and you get to guide them yourself and have loads of time so if I go back I will definitely try it.
    Read less

Prev Next
  • Inspiring 

    All-encompassing itineraries

    Bucket list experiences in extraordinary destinations

    Highlights on and off the beaten track

    Authentic travel experiences with a discrete safety net

  • Expert Knowledge

    Your shortcut to the very best holiday

    Advice and guidance every step of the way

    Expertly designed itineraries

    The very best guides with exceptional local knowledge

  • Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Proudly independent; family-owned and run

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

    Long-established local partnerships

  • Trusted 

    Over 16 years’ experience

    100% ATOL, ABTA and AITO financial protection

    Our 'peace of mind promise'

    Responsible relationships

We use cookies to help us provide a better service for you. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. Click here for more information